NIAAA Student Athlete Scholarship

In accordance with National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association’s (NIAAA) purpose to promote, facilitate and increase the knowledge and understanding of the vital role of interscholastic athletics in the educational system, this scholarship program will foster and recognize the partnership between the NIAAA and secondary education. The scholarships will recognize the distinguished scholastic, leadership and sportsmanship attributes of high school student-athletes, and the importance of high school athletics in each student’s life.

2015 National Student Athlete Scholarship Winners

 Josie-MichaelJosephine Wolfe, North County High School, Glen Burnie, Maryland
Athletic Director: Marianne Shultz, CMAA

Michael Yeradi, Wright High School, Wright, Wyoming
Athletic Director: Larry Yeradi, CAA

Click on a name to read Josephine or Michael’s winning essays.

button2      button1

State Winners

One male and one female will each receive a plaque recognizing them as state winners.

Section Winners

One male and one female in each of the eight NIAAA sections will each receive a $1,500 scholarship and a plaque recognizing them as section winners.

National Winners

One male and one female will be selected from the eight section winners to each receive a $2,500 scholarship and a glass etching recognizing them as national winners in addition to attending the National Conference for Athletic Administrators in December to present their essay.

Click here to see all of our previous national winners.

Find your NIAAA State Liaison

  • Alabama (February 28)
    Denise Ainsworth, CAA, AHSAA
    PO Box 242367
    Montgomery, AL 36124-2367
    dainsworth@ahsaa.com
  • Alaska (February 28)
    Sandi Wagner
    Alaska School Activities Assoc.
    4048 Laurel Street, Suite 203
    Anchorage, AK 99508
    sandi@asaa.org
  • Arizona (February 28)
    Cindy Riley, CAA
    Desert Christian HS
    7525 East Speedway Blvd
    Tucson, AZ 85710
    c-riley@desertchristian.org
  • Arkansas (February 28)
    Bill Mayo
    118 Oakridge Drive
    Eureka Springs, AR 72632
    coachiem@cox.net
  • California (February 28)
    Jean Ashen, CMAA
    North Salinas HS
    55 Kip Drive
    Salinas, CA 93906
    jeankinn.ashen@salinasuhsd.org
  • Colorado (February 28)
    Gary Leeper
    Colorado Athletic Directors Association
    12011 Tejon Street
    Westminster, CO 80234
    gary@imigroup.org
  • Connecticut (January 31)
    Trish Witkin, CMAA
    Glastonbury High School
    330 Hubbard Street                                                                                                                                                                           Glastonbury, CT 06033                                                                                                                                                    witkint@glastonburyus.org
  • Delaware (February – 28)
    Rick Shea, CAA
    Brandywine High School
    917 Naudain Avenue
    Claymont, DE 19703
    Rickshea1959@gmail.com
  • DC (February 28)
    Richard Bettencourt, RAA
    Washington Latin PCS                                                                                                                                                                                           5200 Second Street NW
    Washington, DC 20011
    rbettencourt@llatinpcs.org
  • Florida (May 5)
    Ron Balazs CAA
    8926 Olde Hickory Ave
    Sarasota FL, 34238
    RBalazs@aol.com
  • Georgia (February 28)
    Joe Sanfilippo, CAA
    671 Starlight Drive
    Sautee Nacooche, GA 30571
    sanfilippojq@yahoo.com
  • Hawaii (February 28)
    Blane Gaison, CAA
    Interscholastic League of Honolulu
    P.O. Box 61146
    Honolulu, HI 96839
    gaison@ilhsports.com
  • Idaho (February 28)
    Todd Gilkey, CAA
    St. Maries High School                                                                                                                                                                                              424 Hells Gulch Road                                                                                                                                                                                                      St. Maries, ID 83861                                                                                                                                                                                tgilkey@sd41.org
  • Illinois (February 28)
    Karen Price, CMAA
    Dixon High School
    300 Lincoln Statue Drive
    Dixon, IL 61021
    kprice@dps170.org
  • Indiana (January 10)
    Sam Rasmussen
    4605 Goodrich Rd
    Valparaiso, IN 46385
    rasmussen4605@comcast.net
  • Iowa (February 28)
    Brent Cook, CMAA
    1800 Clarke Drive
    Dubuque, IA 52001
    bcook@dbqschools.org
  • Kansas(February 28)
    Marc Haught, CAA
    3150 Wild Rose
    Wichita, KS 67205
    kiaaaemail@gmail.com
  • Kentucky (February 28)
    Charles Patton, CAA
    Ohio County High School
    1400 South Main
    Hartford, KY 42347
    charles.patton@ohio.kyschools.us
  • Louisiana (February 28)
    James Simmons, CAA
    Lafayette Parish School System
    PO Drawer 2158
    Lafayette, LA 70502
    jwsimmons@lpssonline.com
  • Maine (February 28)
    Martin E. Ryan, CMAA
    POB 676
    Wells, ME 04090
    mryan8@maine.rr.com
  • Maryland (February 28)
    Carol Satterwhite, CAA
    5467 Gloucester Road
    Columbia, MD 21044
    cmsatterwhite@verizon.net
  • Massachusetts (February 28)
    John Lynch, CAA
    Essex Technical High School
    565 Maple Street
    Hawthorne, MA 01937
    jlynch@essextech.net
  • Michigan (February 28)
    Mike Garvey, CMAA
    Central Catholic High School
    1000 West Kilgore Street
    Kalamazoo, MI 49008
    mgarvey@hackettcc.com
  • Minnesota (February 28)
    Mike Beck, CAA
    780 Acorn Circle
    Monticello, MN 55362
    beckmb@live.com
  • Mississippi (February 28)
    Lonnie Tillman, CAA
    PO Box 127
    Clinton, MS 39060
    ltillman@misshsaa.com
  • Missouri (February 28)
    Jeff Taggart
    6005 Cedar Hill Road
    Cedar Hill, MO 63016
    jtaggart@northwestschools.net
  • Montana (February 28)
    Gary DeGooyer, CMAA
    1100 4th Street South
    Great Falls, MT 59403
    gary_degooyer@gfps.k12.mt.us
  • Nebraska (February 28)
    Mike Purdy, CAA
    808 Brenton Avenue
    Bellevue, NE 68005
    mpurdy9998@cox.net
  • Nevada (February 1)
    Xavier Antheaume, CAA
    Chaparral High School
    3850 Annie Oakley Drive
    Las Vegas, NV 89121
    xsa565@interact.ccsd.net
  • New Hampshire (January 20)
    Carol Dozibrin, CAA
    Winnacunnet High School
    1 Alumni Drive
    Hampton, NH 03842
    cdozibrin@winnacunnet.org
  • New Jersey (February 28)
    Robert Hopek, CAA
    1913 Maple Avenue
    Easton, PA 18040
    minnesotahopek1@yahoo.com
  • New Mexico (March 15)
    Lawrence Johnson, CAA
    1735 Monte Vista Corte
    Alamorgordo, NM 88310
    lejohnad@hotmail.com
  • New York (December 4)
    Dennis Fries, CMAA
    59 Timrod Drive
    Irondequoit, NY 14617
    dfries@sectionv.org
  • North Carolina (February 28)
    R. Fred McDaniel
    5434 Wade-Stedman Road
    Wade, NC 28395
    fred.mcdaniel@hotmail.com
  • North Dakota (February 28)
    Students must give their completed
    application to their school athletic director
  • Ohio (February 28)
    Bruce Brown
    707 Dale Avenue NW
    Strasburg, OH 44680
    oiaaa.brucebrown@gmail.com
  • Oklahoma (February 28)
    Ken Ellett, CAA
    2200 North 23rd Street
    Broken Arrow, OK 74012
    kellet@baschools.org
  • Oregon (February 22)
    Kris Welch, CMAA, OADA Executive Director
    Century High School
    2000 SE Century Blvd
    Hillsboro, OR 97123
    welchk@hsd.k12.or.us
  • Pennsylvania (February 28)
    Holly Farnese, CAA
    Upper Darby High School
    601 North Lansdowne Avenue
    Upper Darby, PA 19026
    jaberwok54@comcast.net
  • Rhode Island (February 28)
    Allen Huestis, CAA
    29 Sterling Drive
    North Scituate, RI 02857
    ahuestis@cox.net
  • South Carolina (February 28)
    Myles Wilson
    Spartanburg High School
    500 Dupree Drive
    Spartanburg, SC 29302
    mwilson@spart7.org
  • South Dakota (February 28)
    Bill Clements, CAA
    Dakota Valley High School
    1150 Northshore Drive N
    Sioux City, SD 57754
    bill.clements@k12.sd.us
  • Tennessee (February 28)
    Paul Pendleton, CAA
    Tennessee High School
    1112 Edgemond Avenue
    Bristol, TN 37620
    pendletonp@btcs.org
  • Texas (February 28)
    Brenda Marshall
    2805 Oso Drive
    Corpus Christi, TX 78415
    brenda.marshall@ccisd.us
  • Utah (January 31)
    Richard Barton, CMAA
    UIAAA
    199 E 7200 S
    Midvale, UT 84047
    richard.barton@sevier.k12.ut.us
  • Vermont (October 15)
    Geri-Lynn Witalec, CAA
    75 Hunt Street
    Fairfax, VT 05403
    gwitalec@fwsu.org
  • Virginia (January 10)
    David Nelson, CMAA
    224 Cedar Road
    Poquoson, VA 23662
    ednelson10@cox.net
  • Washington (February 28)
    Erik Titus, CAA
    1600 20th Street
    Anacortes, WA 98221
    etitus@asd103.org
  • West Virginia (February 28)
    Harold Erwin, CAA
    106 Kapok Street
    Eleanor, WV 25070
    herwinwv@yahoo.com
  • Wisconsin (April 1)
    Greg Smith, CMAA
    PO Box 358
    Monroe, WI 53566
    gsmith.wada@gmail.com
  • Wyoming (February 28)
    Cliff Hill, CAA
    Campbell County SD
    1000 Camel Drive
    Gillette, WY 82716
    chill@ccsd.k12.wy.us

— Sponsors —

sponsor_coaches_directory
sideline-logo
UBU
Daktronics
sponsor_musco
SMI Awards