NIAAA Student Athlete Scholarship

Purpose of Scholarship

In accordance with National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association’s (NIAAA) purpose to promote, facilitate and increase the knowledge and understanding of the vital role of interscholastic athletics in the educational system, this scholarship program will foster and recognize the partnership between the NIAAA and secondary education. The scholarships will recognize the distinguished scholastic, leadership and sportsmanship attributes of high school student-athletes, and the importance of high school athletics in each student’s life. Download the NIAAA Student Athlete Scholarship Application (Fillable PDF). States are encouraged to recognize each student who applies by presenting them with a certificate of recognition. Download Certificate of Recognition.

Essay Topic

“How High School Athletics has Impacted my Life”

Evan Camrud - ND - Section 5 wp

 

 

 

Evan Camrud, Judge Rondald N. Davis High School, North Dakota
Athletic Director:  Lenny Ohlhauser

Read 2013 Evan Camrud  National Winner Essay

Alex Moran - NM - Section 6 wp

Velia Olivas, Deming Episcipal Collegiate High School, New Mexico
Athletic Director:  Mike Ellis, CAA

Read 2013 Velia Alejandra Moran Olivas National Winner Essay

Minimum Requirements

  • Applicant must have achieved at least two (2) of the following: (a) minimum of B+ average; (b) ranked in the top 25% of class; (c) ACT score of 24 or an SAT score of 1100 (Verbal and Math only)
  • Applicant must have participated in two sports for at least two years in each sport
  • Applicant must have earned at least one varsity letter in each of two sports
  • Applicant must complete attached scholar application
  • Applicant must have a letter of recommendation from the high school athletic administrator/director
  • School athletic administrator/director must be an NIAAA member and a member of their respective state athletic administrators association
  • The principal or athletic administrator/director must sign the application to ensure that the academic information submitted is accurate
  • All materials must be postmarked to the NIAAA Liaison in your respective state (select your state below to see due date and liaison contact information) no later than your states due date

State Winners

One male and one female will each receive a plaque recognizing them as state winners.

Section Winners

One male and one female in each of the eight NIAAA sections will each receive a $1,500 scholarship and a certificate recognizing them as section winners.

National Winners

One male and one female will be selected from the eight section winners to each receive a $2,500 scholarship and a crystal recognizing them as national winners in addition to attending the National Conference for Athletic Administrators in December to present their essay.

Section Scholarship Winners:

2014 Section Winners

Name High School State Athletic Administrator
Section 1:
Katrina Lapham Belfast Area ME Mark Babin, RAA
Matthieu St. Amour Missisquoi Valley Union VT Dave Rousselle

 

Section 2:
Eryn Quillen Seaford DE Artie Uhlrich
Allen Osgood, III Loveland OH Jim Zidron

 

Section 3:
Emily DeMaio Marist GA Tommy Marshall, CMAA
Zachary Waldrop St. Patrick Catholic MS Renee McDaniels

 

Section 4:
Alexandra Bostic Rising Sun IN Noel Bostic
Aaron Bode Avon IN Brad Holsinger, CAA

 

Section 5:
Elizabeth Magnuson Lincoln SD Jim Dorman, CAA
Evan Camrud Judge Ronald N. Davis ND Lenny Ohlhauser

 

Section 6:
Velia Olivas Deming NM Mike Ellis, CAA
Jacob Rowell Episcipal Collegiate AR Jerry Reese

 

Section 7:
Kaitlyn Huefner Copper Hills UT Darby Cowles
Robert Orr Ironwood AZ Mark Borkowski

 

Section 8:
Jessica DellaRossa C.M. Russell MT Gary DeGooyer, CMAA
Calvin Makelky Pinedale WY Jeff Makelky, CAA

 

Scholarship Timeline

  • Applications postmarked to NIAAA liaison in respective state (see listing of liaisons below)
  • March : States select male and female winner
  • April-June: Sections selects male and female winner
  • July: NIAAA Board selects male and female national winner
  • August : National winners notified by NIAAA office
  • December: National winners and their parents attend national conference to be recognized and present their essay

Find your NIAAA State Liaison

  • Alabama (February 28)
    Denise Ainsworth, CAA, AHSAA
    PO Box 242367
    Montgomery, AL 36124-2367
    dainsworth@ahsaa.com
  • Alaska (February 28)
    Isaiah Vreeman
    Alaska School Activities Assoc.
    4048 Laurel Street, Suite 203
    Anchorage, AK 99508
    Isaiah@asaa.org
  • Arizona (February 28)
    Sister Nancy Perlick, CMAA
    Xavier College Prep
    4710 North 5th Street
    Phoenix, AZ 85012
    perlick@xcp.org
  • Arkansas (February 28)
    Bill Mayo
    118 Oakridge Drive
    Eureka Springs, AR 72632
    coachiem@cox.net
  • California (February 28)
    Jean Ashen, CMAA
    North Salinas HS
    55 Kip Drive
    Salinas, CA 93906
    jeankinn.ashen@salinasuhsd.org
  • Colorado (February 28)
    Diane Shuck, CMAA
    USAF Air Academy High School
    6910 Carlton
    USAF Academy, CO 80840
    diane.shuck@asd20.org
  • Connecticut (January 31)
    Paul Mengold, CAA
    25 Newton Rd
    Woodbridge, 06525
    paul.mengold@reg5.k12.ct.us
  • Delaware (February 28)
    Joe Lahutsky
    Middletown High School
    120 Silver Lake Road
    Middletown, DE 19709
    joe.lahutsky@appo.k12.de.us
  • DC (February 28)
    Stephanie Evans
    1401 Brendwood PKWY, NE Room 1019
    Washington, DC 20002
    stephanie.evans@dc.gov
  • Florida (May 5)
    Ron Balazs CAA
    8926 Olde Hickory Ave
    Sarasota FL, 34238
    RBalazs@aol.com
  • Georgia (February 28)
    Mike Carswell, CAA
    Savannah Country Day
    4625 Waters Avenue
    Savannah, GA 31404
    mcarswell@calvarydayschool.com
  • Hawaii (February 28)
    Blane Gaison, CAA
    Kamehameha School
    1887 Makuakane Street
    Honolulu, HI 96817
    blgaison@ksbe.edu
  • Idaho (February 28)
    Todd Gilkey, CAA
    5530 North 4th Street
    Coeur D’ Alene, ID 83815
    tgilkey@cdaschools.org
  • Illinois (February 28)
    John Szabo, CAA
    Bloomington High School
    1202 East Locust Street
    Bloomington, IL 61701
    szabojohn@district87.org
  • Indiana (January 10)
    Sam Rasmussen
    4605 Goodrich Rd
    Valparaiso, IN 46385
    rasmussen4605@comcast.net
  • Iowa (February 28)
    Brent Cook, CMAA
    1800 Clarke Drive
    Dubuque, IA 52001
    bcook@dbqschools.org
  • Kansas(February 28)
    Dick Schumacher, CAA
    421 East Perwinkle
    Garden Plain, KS 67050
    dpschu62@cox.net
  • Kentucky (February 28)
    Hugh McReynolds, CAA
    Logan County High School
    2200 Bowling Green Road
    Russellville, KY 42276
    hugh.mcreynolds@logan.kyschools.us
  • Louisiana (February 28)
    James Simmons, CAA
    Lafayette Parish School System
    PO Drawer 2158
    Lafayette, LA 70502
    jwsimmons@lpssonline.com
  • Maine (February 28)
    Martin E. Ryan, CMAA 
    POB 676
    Wells, ME 04090
    mryan8@maine.rr.com
  • Maryland (February 28)
    Carol Satterwhite, CAA
    5467 Gloucester Road
    Columbia, MD 21044
    cmsatterwhite@verizon.net
  • Massachusetts (February 28)
    Walter Sargent, CAA
    82 Country Club Drive
    Yarmouthport, MA 02675
    wlssportsmktg@msn.com
  • Michigan (February 28)
    Mike Garvey, CMAA
    Central Catholic High School
    1000 West Kilgore Street
    Kalamazoo, MI 49008
    mgarvey@hackettcc.com
  • Minnesota (February 28)
    Savage Prior Lake High School
    7575 150th St.
    Box 539
    Savage, MN 55378
    erodine@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  • Mississippi (February 28)
    Lonnie Tillman, CAA
    PO Box 127
    Clinton, MS 39060
    ltillman@misshsaa.com
  • Missouri (Febrary 28)
    Joshua Scott, CAA
    Waynesville High School
    200 GW Lane
    Waynesville, MO 65583
    jscott@waynesville.k12.mo.us
  • Montana (February 28)
    Brian Fortmann, CAA
    Big Sky High School
    3100 South Avenue W
    Missoula, MT 59801
    bfortmann@mcps.k12.mt.us
  • Nebraska (February 28)
    Mike Purdy, CAA
    808 Benton Avenue
    Bellevue, NE 68005
    mpurdy9998@cox.net
  • Nevada (February 1)
    Xavier Antheaume, CAA
    Chaparral High School
    3850 Annie Oakley Drive
    Las Vegas, NV 89121
    xsa565@interact.ccsd.net
  • New Hampshire (January 20)
    Carol Dozibrin, CAA
    Winnacunnet High School
    1 Alumni Drive
    Hampton, NH 03842
    cdozibrin@winnacunnet.org
  • New Jersey (February 28)
    Robert Hopek, CAA
    1913 Maple Avenue
    Easton, PA 18040
    minnesotahopek1@yahoo.com
  • New Mexico (MArch 15)
    Lawrence Johnson, CAA
    Alamogordo High School
    103 Cuba
    Alamorgordo, NM 88310
  • New York (February 28)
    Dennis Fries, CMAA
    59 Timrod Drive
    Irondequoit, NY 14617
    freezer@frontiernet.net
  • North Carolina (February 28)
    R. Fred McDaniel
    5434 Wade-Stedman Road
    Wade, NC 28395
    fred.mcdaniel@hotmail.com
  • North Dakota (February 28)
    Ed Lockwood, CMAA
    1960 Rose Creek Drive
    Fargo, ND 58104
    elockwood@cableone.net
  • Ohio (February 28)
    Bill Schumacher
    3420 Everett Road
    Richfield, OH 44286
    bschumacher@revereschools.org
  • Oklahoma (February 28)
    Carl Franks Director of Athletics
    Moore Public Schools
    1500 SE 4th Street
    Moore, OK 73160
    carlfranks@mooreschools.com
  • Oregon (February 22)
    Bill Bowers, CMAA, OADA Executive Director
    1177 Delrose Drive
    Springfield, OR 97477
    billbowers2@comcast.net
  • Pennsylvania (February 28)
    Tom Wagner
    1446 Kittanning Pike
    Karns City, PA 16041
    twagner@karnscity.k12.pa.us
  • Rhode Island (February 28)
    Allen Huestis, CAA
    29 Sterling Drive
    North Scituate, RI 02857
    ahuestis@cox.net
  • South Carolina (February 28)
    Myles Wilson
    Spartanburg High School
    500 Dupree Drive
    Spartanburg, SC 29302
    mwilson@spart7.org
  • South Dakota (February 28)
    Bill Clements, CAA
    Dakota Valley High School
    1150 Northshore Drive N
    Sioux City, SD 57754
    bill.clements@k12.sd.us
  • Tennessee (February 28)
    Paul Pendleton, CAA
    Tennessee High School
    1112 Edgemond Avenue
    Bristol, TN 37620
    pendletonp@btcs.org
  • Texas (February 28)
    Brenda Marshall
    2805 Oso Drive
    Corpus Christi, TX 78415
    brenda.marshall@ccisd.us
  • Utah (January 31)
    Richard Barton, CMAA
    UIAAA
    199 E 7200 S
    Midvale, UT 84047
    richard.barton@sevier.k12.ut.us
  • Vermont (October 15)
    Michael O’Day, CMAA
    South Burlington HS
    550 Dorset Street
    South Burlington, VT 05403
    moday@sbschools.net
  • Virginia (January 10)
    Dave Nelson, CMAA
    224 Cedar Rd.
    Poquoson, VA23662
    ednelson10@cox.net
  • Washington (February 28)
    Jim Piccolo
    1528 – 252nd Street NW
    Stanwood, WA 98292
    piccolodist1@frontier.com
  • West Virginia (February 28)
    Harold Erwin, CAA
    106 Kapok Street
    Eleanor, WV 25070
    herwinwv@yahoo.com
  • Wisconsin (February 28)
    Greg Smith, CMAA
    West DePere High School
    665 Grant Street
    DePere, WI 54115
    gsmith@wdpsd.com
  • Wyoming (February 28)
    Cliff Hill, CAA
    Campbell County SD
    1000 Camel Drive
    Gillette, WY 82716
    chill@ccsd.k12.wy.us

— Sponsors —

sponsor_plexitrac
athleticloud final bw
sponsor_coaches_directory
UBU
sponsor_digital_town
8 to 18